Nominated by:

Borgarbókasafn Reykjavíkur, Reykjavík, Iceland

Publisher of nominated edition:

HarperCollins, Australia

The Map of Time

Félix J. Palma    

Translated from the original Spanish by Nick Caistor 

An epic, ambitious and page-turning mystery that will appeal to fans of The Shadow of the Wind, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell and The Time Traveller’s Wife.

London, 1896. Andrew Harrington is young, wealthy and heartbroken. His lover Marie Kelly was murdered by Jack the Ripper and he longs to turn back the clock and save her.

Meanwhile, Claire Haggerty rails against the position of women in Victorian society. Forever being matched with men her family consider suitable, she yearns for a time when she can be free to love whom she choses.

But hidden in the attic of popular author – and noted scientific speculator – H.G. Wells is a machine that will change everything.

As their quests converge, it becomes clear that time is the problem – to escape it, to change it, might offer them the hope they need…

(From Publisher)

About the Author

Félix J. Palma was born in Spain in 1968. A columnist and literary critic, his short stories have appeared in numerous publications and have earned him more than a hundred awards. The Map of Time won the prestigious University of Seville prize for literature in 2008 and will be published in more than thirty countries.

Librarian’s Comments

Palma’s novel The Map of Time is a singularly moving, meticulous, ironic and hilarious meditation on the idea of time travel; a quite plausible proposition for it’s 19th century host of characters, including H.G. Wells himself.

Related Entries