The 2014 Shortlist has been announced! See News for details

Alistair MacLeod R.I.P. - The award committee has learned with great sadness of the death of Alistair MacLeod, winner of the 2001 award for his wonderful novel No Great Mischief. Our sincere sympathies are with his family and friends.

About the Award

  • Nomination Process

    Books are nominated for the Award by invited public libraries in cities throughout the world - making the Award unique in its coverage of international fiction. Titles are nominated on the basis of 'high literary merit' as determined by the nominating library.

  • The Judges

    Each year a panel of distinguished international judges is put in place under a non-voting chair. They have the epic task of considering each book from the longlist and narrowing it down to a shortlist of up to 10 titles. They must then enter deliberations to come up with the final winner by June of each year.

  • The Prize

    The Award is given annually. The prize of €100,000 is awarded to the author of the winning book. However, if the winning book is in English translation, €75,000 is awarded to the author and €25,000 to the translator.

  • Dublin City Council UNESCO City of Literature

    Brought to you by Dublin City Council